Your business has been highlighted as using a version of our protocol that is going to be discontinued on the Opayo system.
This page will explain what this means, and what you’ll need to do to ensure that your business will not be affected.
When any transaction is processed through the Opayo system it must use a “version” of our communication rules (known as a “protocol”) before it can be accepted.
Currently your website is using an older version of our protocol and must be updated before the 31st July 2015. If you do not update your protocol version your website will not be able to process any transactions through your Opayo account.
When systems communicate with each other, there needs to be a common set of rules and instructions that each system follows. This specific set of communication rules is called a “protocol”.
Your website communicates with Opayo in a specific way every time one of your customers makes a payment.
The information that is sent from your website to us is what we need to allow your customers to reach our payment pages and enter their card details. To enable a payment the following information is sent:
All of this information is entered by shoppers on your website, and is then sent to us as part of a protocol.
Over time we have developed and improved our protocol, and now we have different versions of the protocol that can be used to send your transactions. These are:
Your business has been identified as using an older version of our protocol i.e. versions 2.20, 2.22 or 2.23.
On the 31st July 2015 these older versions will be discontinued. This is important because it means your shoppers won’t be able to make payments on your website, if you haven’t upgraded to our newest version.
To ensure that you can still accept payments after the 31st July you will need to upgrade to version 3.00.
To do this, you firstly need to know how your website is set-up. Websites are usually linked to Opayo in one of the following ways:
You can establish how your website is set-up by either contacting the company that hosts your website (shopping cart) or checking with your web developer (specially built for you).
If you are using a shopping cart you will need to speak with the cart company to ensure that they are upgrading their software to version 3.00 and what steps you need to take to make sure your website will be using this.
Normally there isn’t much work involved if you are using a shopping cart/hosted website as the shopping cart company will carry out the upgrade work for you.
If your website has been specially built, then you will need to contact your web developer.
Your web developer will need to make the necessary changes to your website and upgrade you to version 3.00.
Your web developer can access our Upgrade Guides if necessary.
If you have built your own website then you will need to carry out the upgrade work. We have overviews to help with this.